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Purpose 

This document is intended to provide answers to frequently asked questions regarding the attendance 
process for situations where minor students stop attending school for long periods of time.  

 

Legal Note 

The information provided in this document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice or a 

“rule” as defined by Wis. Stat. § 227.01(13); instead, all information, content, and materials available on 
this site are for general informational purposes only. The guidance contained in this document regarding 

the law should not be considered an authoritative interpretation. School districts should consult with 
their own legal counsel.  

 

Responsibility for School Attendance 

Wisconsin public schools share responsibility with students and caregivers to ensure school-age children 

are enrolled in and attending appropriate educational programs. The law provides that any person having 
under their control a child who is between the ages of 6 and 18 years and that has not yet graduated from 

high school shall cause the child to attend school regularly during the full period and hours, religious 
holidays excepted, that the public or private school in which the child should be enrolled is in session until 

the end of the school term, quarter, or semester of the school year in which the child becomes 18 years of 
age. [Wis. Stat. § 118.15(1)(a)]. Instruction in a home-based private educational program (home schooling) 

that meets the criteria found in Wis. Stat. § 118.165(1) may be substituted for attendance at a public or 
private school. [Wis. Stat. § 118.15(4)]. There is no exception in the law for a child who has been expelled, 

and that child is still required to attend school (or a legal alternative). If the expelled student is a student 
with a disability, the resident district must continue to provide a Free Appropriate Public Education 

(FAPE).    
 

The Wisconsin Constitution guarantees a free education for children ages 4 through 20 who have not yet 
graduated from high school. The requirement of the local school district to provide free public elementary 

and secondary education to resident children is stated in Wis. Stat. §. 121.77(1) as follows: “Every 
elementary school and high school shall be free to all pupils who reside in the school district.” A school 

district must enroll and serve a resident student immediately. A school district may deny education 
services only if: the student is not a resident of the district; or, pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 120.13(1)(f), if the 

student is currently expelled from another Wisconsin public school district.  
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1. What steps should school districts take when a minor student stops attending school completely? 

a. School districts are responsible for setting truancy plans pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 118.162 and 
should be familiar with what the law requires to be identified in those local policies regarding 

notification and truancy enforcement. District staff should follow their local school district 
policies related to truancy and habitual truancy, including proactive communication and 

individualized problem-solving with caregivers and the student. For students with a disability, 
attendance concerns should be addressed through the IEP process. Absent students should 

always be tracked through the district’s Student Information System (SIS). 
b. School district staff should proactively meet with representatives from child welfare, youth 

justice, local law enforcement, district attorneys, the courts, parents, and students to 
determine a collaborative response to situations involving minor students and school non-

attendance. 
c. If there are child maltreatment and safety concerns, school staff should follow policies related 

to the mandated reporting of child abuse and neglect. This includes knowing the legal 
definitions of child abuse and neglect and how to use critical thinking to determine if a report 

to Child Protective Services (CPS) is warranted, and if not, to instead work with the family to 
problem solve and identify needed resources. 
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d. If the student’s absences are determined to be the result of homelessness, as defined by the 
McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act [42 U.S.C. § 11432 et seq.], designated school 

district staff must have established processes to assist homeless students in accordance with 
federal and state guidelines. It is essential that children and youth experiencing homelessness 

are able to attend and fully participate in school. 
e. A school district may create a withdrawal process, which should include making every effort to 

locate and serve a student as well as documenting those efforts.  
i. This process may include removing the student from their class schedule and roster in 

their SIS and indicating a code of ODO (meaning, Other, Dropout, or Possible Dropout) 
in WISEdata.  

1. School districts may wish to create a system within their SIS for tracking 
students who enroll yet never attend and who no longer appear on their 

enrollment lists, so as to check in periodically and again attempt to locate and 
serve the student.  

2. When a student is exited with an ODO code in WISEdata, their absences will no 
longer be included in school district reporting data related to absenteeism. 

Note that in such a case, the student would be reflected as a “dropout” student 
in the data as opposed to an “absent” student.   

ii. A school district may alternatively determine to maintain the student on their active 
student enrollment and class roster, continuing to mark a student’s daily absences. 

Choosing this method assists schools in tracking students who have stopped attending.  
1. When a student continues to be marked unexcused, these absences will be 

included in school district reporting data related to absenteeism.  
f. School districts may decide to create a letter to send to students and families of students if 

they withdraw them from their roster in their SIS, letting them know that this step has been 
taken and that the student is welcome back to the district through age 20. This letter can 

include concern for the student, the district’s willingness to work with the student and family, 
possible alternative learning programs that the district can offer (such as GED programs), and 

encouragement to return and finish their education. 
 

2. If a student with an Individualized Education Program (IEP) stops attending for a length of time, 
what must the school do to continue to offer FAPE? 

Students with disabilities who have not yet graduated with a regular high school diploma have a right 
to FAPE until the age of 21. A school district cannot terminate special education services under the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) for a student who fails to respond to notices 
regarding attendance. The district retains its obligation to provide FAPE for that student. This means a 

student who dropped out could re-enroll and access special education services until they earn a 
regular high school diploma or reach the maximum age (21).  

 

https://dpi.wi.gov/homeless
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A student's lack of attendance generally triggers an obligation to reexamine the student's IEP to 
determine if changes should be made. If a student with an IEP has stopped attending school, the IEP 

team needs to continue attempts to contact the student and family to schedule an IEP meeting, using 
multiple ways of contact (letter, email, phone call, etc.) The IEP meeting that needs to be held to 

develop or revise the IEP should consider how to remove barriers to attendance and consider if 
additional services and supports need to be provided. A comprehensive special education 

reevaluation may be appropriate to assist the IEP team in determining if any additions or 
modifications to the special education services are needed to enable the student to meet the 

measurable annual goals set out in the IEP and participate, as appropriate, in the general education 
curriculum.   

 
If a family does not respond to the attempted contacts, the district should send a letter to the family 

saying that they are ready and waiting to serve the child, and the family should the family send their 
child to school. All attempts to contact the student and family should be documented. The IEP team 

should continue to document attempts to reach the family to hold an IEP meeting and document 
communication attempts and IEP meeting discussions for when a parent is not present.  

 
If a student is over 18 and has not yet graduated, the student is still eligible through age 21 for 

services. If an adult student does not attend scheduled services, the district should conduct an IEP 
team meeting to address why the student is not attending. If the adult student continues to not attend 

after the district has made reasonable efforts to secure attendance, the district should notify the 
student in writing that FAPE remains available until the student reaches the age of 21 or graduates 

with a regular high school diploma. Adult students have the right to withdraw from school, even 
though it may not be in their best interests.  

 
Learn more by visiting the Special Education Indicator 2 webpage.   

 
Additionally, the Transition Improvement Grant (TIG) has many great resources on reducing the 

number of dropouts with IEPs. Learn more by visiting the TIG Indicator 2 webpage.  
 
3. What steps should school districts take when a minor student is expected to transfer but they do 

not actually attend a new school or home school program? 

Both school districts should collaborate to ensure the student enrolls and attends the new school 
district. If attempts to cause the student to attend school in the new district are not successful, the 

original district may need to follow the steps outlined in Question #1.  
 
 
 

https://dpi.wi.gov/sped/about/state-performance-plan/indicators/2-dropout
https://dpi.wi.gov/sped/about/state-performance-plan/indicators/2-dropout
https://witig.org/graduation-for-all/indicator-2/
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4. What steps should school districts take when a minor student has been expelled but does not 
attend a new school or homeschool program? 

See Question #1. Additional resources related to expulsion can be found on the Student Service 
Prevention and Wellness Discipline webpage. 

 
5. In the above situation, which district receives the dropout in WISEdata if the student never attends 

and does not return to the previous school? 

The school district where the student had been attending will receive the dropout. 

 
6. When may students leave school even though they have not graduated?  

Students may leave school at the end of the school term, quarter, or semester during which they turn 
18 years of age. [Wis. Stat. §. 118.15(1)(a)]. However, because there is juvenile court jurisdiction under 

the law only until age 18, it is unlikely that a student leaving on their 18th birthday, even if it occurs 
before the end of the term, can be referred to court. 

 
7. What additional considerations must a school consider for youth at risk of not graduating? 

Every school board is required to annually, by August 15, identify the children at risk who are enrolled 
in the school district and develop a plan describing how the school board will meet those children’s 

needs. [Wis. Stat. § 118.153]. 
 
8. Where can I find information about exit types in WISEdata? 

Learn more by visiting the WISEdata Data Elements Exit Types webpage.  
 
9. What happens when a student in a virtual charter school stops attending? 

Learn more by visiting DPI’s Habitual Truancy, Failure to Participate (Virtual Charter Schools) and 
Expulsion webpage.  

 
10. What steps should a school take when an adult student (through age 20) stops attending yet has not 

graduated? 

a. An adult student has the right to stop attending school, even though this may not be in their 

best interests. 
b. Staff should make every attempt to locate and serve the student, including sharing 

information and resources on alternative programs and technical colleges. (Learn more by 
visiting DPI’s webpage on GED/HSED programs.) 

c. A district may withdraw the student from their SIS using the ODO code.  

https://dpi.wi.gov/sspw/pupil-services/school-social-work/contents/behavior/discipline-suspension-expulsion
https://dpi.wi.gov/sspw/pupil-services/school-social-work/contents/behavior/discipline-suspension-expulsion
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/153
https://dpi.wi.gov/wise/data-elements/exit-types
https://dpi.wi.gov/open-enrollment/resources/truancy
https://dpi.wi.gov/open-enrollment/resources/truancy
https://dpi.wi.gov/ged
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d. The district may mail a letter to the student indicating they are being removed from their class 
roster but should indicate the student is always welcome to return and the school will assist 

them with planning a learning program that meets their unique needs.  
e. For students with an IEP, see Question #2. 

 
11. What steps should a school take when a student will be temporarily away from the school district 

and their learning environment for extended periods of time? 

There may be times when a student will be temporarily away from the school district and their 

learning environment for extended periods of time. These situations may be due to family events or 
obligations in a different state or country, including, but not limited to, family reunions, weddings, or 

sporting events. School district leaders are encouraged to consider policies and procedures for how to 
handle the enrollment, attendance, and continued learning experience for students in this situation in 

a consistent and supportive manner. Determination of whether the student should remain enrolled or 
be exited is a local decision. 

 
Review information on our WISEdata webpage for Students on Extended Leave for how to code and report 
attendance.  

• Keep in mind that the law provides parents the right to excuse their child from school 

attendance for any reason in writing before the absence. Parents can exercise this right for up 
to ten days per school year. [Wis. Stat. § 118.15(3)(c)].  

• Ideally, students who temporarily leave the learning environment for long periods of time will 
stay connected to the school community and make progress toward their learning goals. 
However, even if the student is still receiving homework, that doesn't mean the student is 

enrolled and attending. School district staff are encouraged to proactively plan with students 
and families to determine how learning can continue while they are away and to encourage the 

student to return to the school community as soon as possible. School staff can discuss their 
interest in having the student return and being there for them when they do.  

 
Students with IEPs - When a student with an IEP is absent for an extended period of time, there are 

several considerations. The district should look at how its attendance policy generally addresses long-
term absences. The IEP team should consider if the student can receive the services outlined in their 

IEP and if FAPE can be provided through remote learning. Some students with IEPs cannot access 
learning through work being sent home, nor would work sent home count as instructional minutes for 

special education services. For some situations, an IEP team meeting could be held before the planned 
absence, and the IEP team could consider incorporating a contingency plan in the student’s IEP.  When 

the student returns to school, an IEP meeting should be held to consider the student’s progress 
towards annual goals and the general curriculum to determine current needs and services.  

 

https://dpi.wi.gov/wisedata/help/portal/uncommon-situations/non-traditional-students#Students%20on%20Extended%20Leave
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Re-entry upon the student’s return - School district staff are encouraged to set up a re-entry meeting 
with the student and family to determine needed supports to ensure the student gets or stays on track 

for graduation.  
 

Open Enrolled - School districts should keep in mind that if a student is open enrolled into the district, 
they must be physically present in the non-resident district or be enrolled in a Virtual Charter School. 

More information on Open Enrollment can be found on DPI’s Public School Open Enrollment 
webpage. 

 
May a WI resident temporarily living outside the state or country be enrolled in a virtual charter school? 
Learn more by visiting WISEdata Non-Traditional WISEdata Situations webpage.  

 
Migrant Education Program (MEP) - Migratory students are students who leave for long periods of time 
(2-7 months) because their families move from place to place for purposes of agricultural/seasonal 

work.  
• Districts should have processes in place to identify the migratory families in their community, 

refer them to statewide MEP recruiters, and be prepared to assess and respond to the unique 
needs of migratory students.  

• Once a student is confirmed to have migratory status, the school district will receive an 
automated notice from WISEdash.  

• Supports for migratory students should focus on lessening the challenges they face because of 

their mobility. This often means collaborating with school districts in the second state or 
country that migratory students call home to ensure they have the course alignment and 

credit recovery needed to graduate in either state. When possible, districts should become 
familiar with the migratory families who will often be arriving to Wisconsin at specific times 

during the year and be prepared to reach out to those families to assist them with enrollment 
so that transportation and other essential registration processes are in place.  

• More information regarding the identification of migratory students and best practices can be 
found on the DPI’s Migrant Education webpage, and DPI Migrant Education staff are always 
available to help support district efforts.  

 

 

Additional Questions on Coding and Reporting?  

Submit a Help Ticket. 
 
Additional Questions on Best Practices?  

Contact the Student Services Prevention and Wellness Team, dpisspw@dpi.wi.gov (608) 266-8960 
 

https://dpi.wi.gov/open-enrollment
https://dpi.wi.gov/open-enrollment
https://dpi.wi.gov/wisedata/help/portal/uncommon-situations/non-traditional-students#Out%20of%20State%20Students
https://dpi.wi.gov/migrant
https://dpi.wi.gov/wisedata/help/request
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Additional Resources 

• SSPW Attendance page 
• Answers to Frequently Asked Compulsory School Attendance Questions (2016) 
• Best Practices Approaches to Truancy Enforcement: Information for School Attendance Officers - 

DPI 

• WISEdata attendance page 
• WISEData Non-Traditional WISEdata Situations web page 
• Attendance in Online and Blended Learning Environments page 
• Bringing Attendance Home: Engaging Parents in Preventing Chronic Absence Toolkit - 

Attendance Works  

https://dpi.wi.gov/sspw/safe-schools/school-attendance
https://dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sspw/pdf/schlattendqa.pdf
https://dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sspw/pdf/Best_Practice_Approaches_to_Truancy_Reduction.pdf
https://dpi.wi.gov/wise/data-elements/attendance
https://dpi.wi.gov/wisedata/help/portal/uncommon-situations/non-traditional-students
https://dpi.wi.gov/online-blended-learning/attendance
https://www.attendanceworks.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/AW_ParentToolkit_0718.pdf

