



Education Information Services • 125 South Webster Street • P.O. Box 7841 • Madison, WI 53707-7841 • (608) 266-3559

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DPI-NR 2019-66

Monday, September 16, 2019

Contact: DPI Media Inquiries, (608) 266-3559, media.inquiries@dpi.wi.gov

State of Education Address Thursday

Stanford Taylor to recognize Friends of Education and Teachers of the Year at Capitol event

MADISON — State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor will present her annual State of Education Address at noon Thursday, Sept. 19, in the State Capitol in Madison.

Sarahí Monterrey, an English Learner teacher at Waukesha North High School and Wisconsin's representative to the 2019 National Teacher of the Year program, will give the welcome for the State of Education program and serve as master of ceremonies. The Northside Elementary African Ensemble from the Monroe School District will play "Sunyani" to open the event. The orchestra is under the direction of

Sarah Hass-Bodell. Flynn Baker, a student at the Prairie School in Racine and Wisconsin's 2019
Badger Boys State Superintendent of Schools, will lead the Pledge of Allegiance. Desiray Meade, a student at Madison East High School, will sing the national anthem. Anna Kallsen, 2019 Badger Girls State Superintendent of Schools and a student at Jefferson High School in the Jefferson School District, will introduce Stanford Taylor.

State of Education Program

Noon, Thursday, September 19, 2019 State Capitol Rotunda

State of Education Address

Friend of Education Awards Awardees to be announced

Teacher of the Year Recognition Special Services Teacher of the Year Bawaajigekwe Andrea Boulley, Ashland School District Middle School Teacher of the Year Erin McCarthy, Greendale School District Elementary Teacher of the Year Chelsea Miller, Jefferson School District

High School Teacher of the Year Chad Sperzel-Wuchterl, Milwaukee Public Schools

The Wisconsin National Guard will provide a

color guard for the program, with cadence provided by Alexander Graves, a student at Deerfield High School.

Following the State of Education Address, Stanford Taylor will present five Friend of Education awards. (The recipients will be announced Tuesday.)

(more)

State of Education Address and Program - Page 2

The state superintendent and a representative from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation will

recognize Wisconsin's 2019-20 Teachers of the Year. The four educators to be recognized are: Chelsea

Miller of Jefferson, an art teacher at Sullivan and West elementary schools in the Jefferson School District;

Erin McCarthy of Milwaukee, an eighth-grade social studies teacher at Greendale Middle School and

Wisconsin's representative to the 2020 National Teacher of the Year program; Chad Sperzel-Wuchterl of

Milwaukee, an art teacher at Reagan High School in Milwaukee Public Schools; and Bawaajigekwe Andrea

Boulley of Washburn, a special education teacher at Ashland Middle and Lake Superior Elementary schools

in the Ashland School District.

The postlude, "Drum with a Passion" performed by the Northside Elementary African Ensemble, will

conclude the program.

###

WHO:

State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor

WHAT:

State of Education Address

Friend of Education Awards — Teacher of the Year Recognition

WHEN:

Noon to 1 p.m., Thursday, September 19, 2019

WHERE: State Capitol Rotunda

Media Availability: Thirty minutes following conclusion of program — State Capitol, Room 225 NW