News Release



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Wednesday, April 13, 2022 Contact: DPI Media Line, (608) 266-3559, media.inquiries@dpi.wi.gov DPI-NR 2022-26

Four Wisconsin educators named finalists for national award

Teachers nominated for success in teaching math, science, and STEM

MADISON — The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction today announced four Wisconsin educators have been named finalists for the 2022 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The PAEMST is considered the highest honor given by the U.S. government for science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers.

The four teachers were nominated for their pedagogical and content knowledge, and for leadership in their field. Wisconsin finalists for the 2022 PAEMST are:

- Mark Bussian, second grade mathematics teacher, Token Springs Elementary School (Sun Prairie)
- Jessica Meacham, 4K- grade five STEAM teacher, Southern Door Elementary School (Brussels)
- Alice Severson, 5K- grade five science teacher, Huegel Elementary School (Madison)
- Suzanne Zietlow, third grade science teacher, Discovery Charter School (Columbus)

This award, presented annually since 1983, recognizes K-12 science, technology, engineering,

mathematics, and/or computer science teachers from across the nation. States establish committees who select finalists based on criteria required by the national PAEMST program.

Applications from Wisconsin's finalists will be judged at the national level by a committee organized by the National Science Foundation, which administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. One awardee in mathematics and one awardee in science may receive a \$10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and professional development opportunities, along with being honored at an award ceremony in Washington, D.C.

###

NOTE: This news release is available online here on the Wisconsin DPI's website.