News Release



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DPI-NR 2024-48

Thursday, May 9, 2024

Contact: DPI Media Line, (608) 266-3559, media.inquiries@dpi.wi.gov

Two Wisconsin high school seniors receive prestigious national award

Among just 161 students around the nation named U.S. Presidential Scholars

MADISON — Two Wisconsin students have been named U.S. Presidential Scholars by the U.S. Department of Education, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students. The students received the recognition for achievement in academics, arts, and career and technical education.

Anica Tipkemper-Wolfe (Cedarburg Senior High School – Cedarburg School District) and Ezra M. Linnan (Sevastopol High School – Sevastopol School District) are among a group of 161 high school seniors from across the nation to receive the honor.

"Anica and Ezra are shining examples of the possibilities when passion meets perseverance," State Superintendent Dr. Jill Underly said. "Their hard work and creativity have demonstrated how opportunities in the arts and career and technical education help our students be well-rounded, future-ready leaders. I applaud them for their success and am so proud to call them U.S. Presidential Scholars."

Each year, the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects student scholars based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. This year, more than 5,700 candidates qualified for the awards through strong performance on exams or through nominations.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2024 will be recognized for their achievement this summer during an online recognition program. For more information on the program, visit the U.S. Department of Education's website.

###